Thomas Böcker
Salzgasse 6
01067 Dresden / Germany

Phone +49 351 3324029
info@spielemusikkonzerte.de

VAT ID DE216059330


Booking:

Opus 3 Artists GmbH
Sophia Grevesmühl
Pariser Straße 62
10719 Berlin / Germany

Phone +49 30 88910151
sgrevesmuhl@opus3artists.com



header finalsymphony
Scroll                 down   

Final Symphony is an officially licensed series of concerts featuring symphonic music from the video games FINAL FANTASY VI, VII and X. The exclusive arrangements are penned by Masashi Hamauzu, Jonne Valtonen and Roger Wanamo.

In May 2013, Final Symphony was premiered by the Wuppertal Symphony Orchestra at the Historische Stadthalle in Wuppertal, Germany under the leadership of Eckehard Stier. In the same month, the UK premiere of Final Symphony took place with the London Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican Centre in London, marking the orchestra’s first ever performance of music from video games.

Having been performed by the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra and the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra, additional Final Symphony concerts took place in 2014 with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra and the Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra.

Jonne Valtonen
Fantasy Overture – Circle within a circle within a circle

Nobuo Uematsu
FINAL FANTASY VI – Symphonic Poem (Born with the Gift of Magic)
(Terra’s Theme | Kefka | Esper World | Battle etc.)

Nobuo Uematsu, Masashi Hamauzu
FINAL FANTASY X – Piano Concerto
(Besaid | Hum of the Fayth | Thunder Plains | Assault etc.)

I. Zanarkand
II. Inori
III. Kessen

Nobuo Uematsu
FINAL FANTASY VII – Symphony in Three Movements
(Main Theme of FINAL FANTASY VII | J-E-N-O-V-A | Tifa‘s Theme |
The Great Warrior etc.)


I. Nibelheim Incident
II. Words Drowned by Fireworks
III. The Planet‘s Crisis

“It's not always easy to surprise an audience, but Final Symphony is a sweet revenge on everyone
who thought we already heard the best from Nobuo Uematsu’s tunes.”
LEVEL

“Finland's first performance of Valtonen's, Wanamo's and producer-guru Thomas Böcker's concert series was a triumphant march of gaming and music through and through.”
Dome

 

 

“The ecstatic crowd made it completely clear: Final Symphony wasn't merely good –
it exceeded all expectations.”
IGN

 

 

“With Final Symphony, Böcker, Valtonen and Wanamo, together with the Wuppertal Symphony Orchestra under the leadership of Eckehard Stier, have achieved their crowning work up to now.”
M! Games

“Final Symphony isn’t just another Final Fantasy concert. The concept genuinely changes what to expect from video game music. As such it’s a standalone work of art.”
Jutland Station

“Yes, these demanding and virtuoso pieces can be considered as very high quality contemporary music. Yes, the artistic quality of the concert was worth the prestige of the venue and the superb orchestra we were treated to that evening. In this regard, the Merregnon Studios concert series remains unrivaled in the world.”
Musicaludi

“Böcker, Valtonen, Wanamo, Hamauzu and Uematsu topped their own,
obviously high standards and created a true, sweeping masterpiece.”
Polygamia

“The arrangers have taken it a step beyond. They've reimagined the music, allowing it to stand on its own two feet, so that you could hear it completely independently of the game, and still get a sense of scale and journey.”
The 405 Music and Culture Magazine

“Böcker and his team retake elements of past concerts to expand and refine them, and the results are arrangements of the highest quality, that can and should be appreciated both by those who know the original compositions and by
fans of orchestral music in general.”
Hadouken

“Playing perfectly under the rousing baton of Eckehard Stier, the Wuppertal Symphony Orchestra interpreted the compositions of the Japanese composers brilliantly. Even those unfamiliar with planet Gaia and the Lifestream couldn't help but be touched emotionally by the music, such was the perfect, jubilant finale.”
Westdeutsche Zeitung

“Final Symphony is not only an accomplishment for video game music, but it is a showcase that music, any music, can truly be transformed into worlds that the listener can travel within.”
Original Sound Version

“I recommend the concert not only to fans of the music from Final Fantasy, but also to those who want to get acquainted with video game music, regardless of whether they had prior contact with it or not.”
GameMusic.pl

“The sophisticated concept of reflecting the stories of the games through music makes Final Symphony a unique entry to the series of concerts. Connoissuers of the games felt completely at ease with the demanding and creative reinterpretation of the music.
This is what a succesful anniversary looks like.”
campus-web

“It was an absolutely fantastic concert. The people involved once again proved to possess a high amount of skill and professionalism as well as intimate knowledge and understanding of the source material.”
The Lifestream

FINAL FANTASY VI

Symphonic Poem: Born with the Gift of Magic

Roger Wanamo, the arranger and orchestrator of this symphonic poem, has a strong connection with this particular part of the FINAL FANTASY-series: “VI was the first FINAL FANTASY game I ever played and I remember being totally swept away by the depth of the story, the intricate characters and not to mention, the stunningly beautiful music. With this arrangement I wish to retell that story as I experienced it.”

The focus of this arrangement is on the journey of Terra Branford, the heroine born with the gift of magic. She has grown up as a slave to the Empire and has been raised to become a weapon of mass destruction. As Terra breaks free from the Emperor’s bonds, she finds that she is unable to recall anything about her past. She sets out on a journey to recover her own identity, and also to find out the source behind her strange powers. In her adventures she also has to save the world from the evil villain Kefka, the emperor’s jester-like court mage.
Roger Wanamo explains: “Over the course of the piece, I examine the different stages of Terra’s life that have made her into the person she is. I also take a more in-depth look at Kefka and his psychopathic personality. Once the final battle is over, and the smoke over the battlefield has cleared, Terra has finally come to grips with her past and may live freely.”

FINAL FANTASY X

Piano Concerto

Masashi Hamauzu, the arranger of this piano concerto, is also one of the original composers of the music for the FINAL FANTASY X (alongside Nobuo Uematsu and Junya Nakano). He feels that working on FINAL FANTASY X was something very special: “In this instance I could give more priority to my feelings and sensitivity when composing music than often is the case. Naturally I also had the storyline of the game strongly in my mind, but I also got ideas from the real world outside the creations of the FINAL FANTASY-world.”

Having worked for so long with the FINAL FANTASY-series, Masashi Hamauzu sees it more as a continuum than as a series of separate scenes and stories. His inspiration for the material in this concert is more a reflection of that bigger vision and not so much connected to any certain story-arc or a set of characters. He sees this concert as an opportunity to fulfill his vision of the music even further: “There were a few things I couldn’t express well enough while I was working originally on the music of FINAL FANTASY X, and I feel like I could express those things this time around.”
Hamauzu is also very impressed by the work of Roger Wanamo, the orchestrator of this concerto, “he is one of the best orchestrators in Europe”.

freisteller uematsu



Nobuo Uematsu
has been composing music for video games since the mid-eighties. His name is inextricably linked to the FINAL FANTASY series, and his music has gone on to sell millions of CDs worldwide.

freisteller hamauzu-



Masashi Hamauzu is a well-known composer and arranger for the video game industry, with almost 20 years of experience behind him. His recent soundtracks include the music for FINAL FANTASY XIII.

FINAL FANTASY VII

Symphony in Three Movements

I. Nibelheim Incident

The first movement of the symphony is based on the villain of the game, Sephiroth. Jonne Valtonen, the arranger and orchestrator of this symphony, uses the 3-note motif of Sephiroth throughout the first movement as an element of structural integrity. In the final phase of the movement “The One-Winged Angel” emerges in all its glory, before gradually distorting as all of the earlier themes of the movement are gradually built on top of each other. This distortion is a reflection of the internal chaos Sephiroth is feeling, as he becomes aware of his past. In the end of the movement things slow down. As Sephiroth is reborn, the familiar pulse is heard “in almost spiritual context”, an apt description by Jonne Valtonen.

II. Words Drowned by Fireworks

The second movement of the symphony deals with the themes of love, loss and uncertainty. The hero Cloud is undecided in his feelings towards Aerith and Tifa. The movement begins with “Words Drowned by Fireworks”, a scene in which Cloud goes on a date that ends abruptly. The music moves forward representing the themes of Tifa, Cloud and Aerith - the three themes that are always present, each one featured up front as a main theme at certain phase of the movement. The melodies and motifs from the other themes surface to the foreground whenever there is room available from the current main theme.

III. The Planet’s Crisis

“Countdown” is the beginning point of the third movement and it contains material that recurs throughout this movement as a unifying element. The great theme of this movement is that of good versus evil, Cloud versus Sephiroth. This final confrontation is reflected by the sounds of the metallic hits that echo the themes themselves. The themes of different characters are put into the mix as they engage in the battle. Silence emerges after the intense battle and from that silence the lifestream begins to flow, and to grow. And grow it does indeed, as Jonne Valtonen explains: “Actually, spectrally and orchestrally the chords in the end are as loud as physically possible. The sound is huge and overwhelming, much like the lifestream itself.”

Text: Mikko Laine

Final Symphony © & ℗ 2013/2014 Merregnon Studios. Licensed by Square Enix. FINAL FANTASY is a registered trademark or trademark of Square Enix Group Co., Ltd.

Thomas Böcker
Salzgasse 6
D-01067 Dresden

Telefon +49 351 3324029
info@spielemusikkonzerte.de

USt-ID DE216059330


Buchungsanfragen:

Opus 3 Artists GmbH
Sophia Grevesmühl
Pariser Straße 62
D-10719 Berlin

Telefon +49 30 88910151
sgrevesmuhl@opus3artists.com



header finalsymphony
Scroll                 down   

Final Symphony ist die offiziell lizenzierte Konzertreihe mit sinfonischer Musik aus den Videospielen FINAL FANTASY VI, VII und X. Die exklusiven Arrangements stammen aus den Federn von Masashi Hamauzu, Jonne Valtonen und Roger Wanamo.

Im Mai 2013 wurde Final Symphony vom Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal unter Leitung von Eckehard Stier in der Historischen Stadthalle Wuppertal uraufgeführt. Noch im gleichen Monat folgte die britische Premiere mit dem London Symphony Orchestra im Barbican Centre London – mit dieser Aufführung von Final Symphony absolvierte das Orchester zugleich sein erstes Spielemusikkonzert überhaupt.

Sowohl in Wuppertal als auch in London waren die beiden verantwortlichen Komponisten Nobuo Uematsu und Masashi Hamauzu als Ehrengäste anwesend.

2014 sind weitere Final Symphony-Aufführungen mit dem Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, dem Aarhus Symphony Orchestra und dem Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra geplant.

Jonne Valtonen
Fantasy Overture – Circle within a circle within a circle

Nobuo Uematsu
FINAL FANTASY VI – Tondichtung (Born with the Gift of Magic)
(Terra’s Theme | Kefka | Esper World | Battle etc.)

Nobuo Uematsu, Masashi Hamauzu
FINAL FANTASY X – Klavierkonzert
(Besaid | Hum of the Fayth | Thunder Plains | Assault etc.)

I. Zanarkand
II. Inori
III. Kessen

Nobuo Uematsu
FINAL FANTASY VII – Sinfonie in drei Sätzen
(Main Theme of FINAL FANTASY VII | J-E-N-O-V-A | Tifa‘s Theme |
The Great Warrior etc.)


I. Nibelheim Incident
II. Words Drowned by Fireworks
III. The Planet‘s Crisis

4. Mai 2014 // 14 Uhr
4. Mai 2014 // 19 Uhr

Tokyo Bunka Kaikan

Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra

Tickets

9. Mai 2014 // 19:30 Uhr

Musikhuset Aarhus

Aarhus Symphony
Orchestra

Tickets

18. Juni 2014 // 19 Uhr

Konserthuset Stockholm

Royal Stockholm
Philharmonic Orchestra

Tickets

„Mit Final Symphony setzten Böcker, Valtonen und Wanamo gemeinsam mit dem Sinfonieorchester Wuppertal unter der Leitung von Dirigent Eckehard Stier ihrem bisherigen Schaffen die vorläufige Krone auf.“
M! Games

„Ja, diese anspruchsvollen und virtuosen Stücke können als zeitgenössische Musik höchster Qualität bezeichnet werden. Ja, die künstlerische Qualität des Konzerts war dem Prestige des Konzertsaals und dem hervorragenden Orchester angemessen, das wir an diesem Abend erleben durften. In dieser Beziehung bleibt die Konzertreihe der Merregnon Studios weltweit ohne Konkurrenz.“
Musicaludi

„Böcker, Valtonen, Wanamo, Hamauzu und Uematsu haben ihre eigenen, sichtlich hohen Ansprüche getoppt und ein echt mächtiges Kunstwerk erschaffen.“
Polygamia

„Die Arrangeure sind noch einen Schritt weiter gegangen. Sie haben die Musik neu interpretiert und ihr erlaubt, auf eigenen Füßen zu stehen. So kann man sie unabhängig vom Spiel hören und spürt dennoch ein Gefühl von Größe und Abenteuer.“
The 405 Music and Culture Magazine

„Böcker und sein Team verwenden Elemente früherer Konzerte, um sie zu erweitern und verfeinern. Das Ergebnis sind Arrangements höchster Qualität, die sowohl von jenen geschätzt werden können und sollen, die mit der Originalmusik vertraut sind, als auch von Fans orchestraler Musik im Allgemeinen.“
Hadouken

„Unter dem mitreißenden Dirigat von Eckehard Stier setzten die perfekt aufspielenden Wuppertaler Sinfoniker die Kompositionen der japanischen Komponisten brillant um. Und weil Musik-Emotionen auch die erreichen, die sich in Sachen Planet Gaia und Lebensströmen mit Mako-Energien nicht so auskennen, ist der finale Jubel perfekt.“
Westdeutsche Zeitung

„Final Symphony ist nicht nur eine Errungenschaft für Spielemusik. Es ist auch der Beweis dafür, dass Musik - jede Musik - in Welten umgeformt werden kann, in denen Hörer wandeln können.“
Original Sound Version

„Ich empfehle dieses Konzert nicht nur Fans der Musik aus Final Fantasy, sondern auch all jenen, die sich mit Videospielemusik vertraut machen möchten. Unabhängig davon, ob sie zuvor bereits Kontakt dazu hatten oder nicht.“
GameMusic.pl

„Das anspruchsvolle Konzept, die Geschichte des Spiels durch ihre Musik zu reflektieren, hebt Final Symphony deutlich von anderen Konzerten der Reihe ab. Kenner der Spiele fühlen sich mit der anspruchsvollen und kreativen Neuinterpretation der Musik pudelwohl. So sieht ein gelungenes Jubiläum aus.“
campus-web

„Es war ein absolut phantastisches Konzert. Die Verantwortlichen haben erneut bewiesen, dass sie neben hoher Kompetenz und Professionalität über ein umfangreiches Wissen und Verständnis gegenüber der Vorlage verfügen.“
The Lifestream

FINAL FANTASY VI

Tondichtung: Born with the Gift of Magic

Roger Wanamo, der Arrangeur und Orchestrator dieser Tondichtung, fühlt sich diesem Teil von FINAL FANTASY stark verbunden: „Teil VI war das erste FINAL FANTASY, das ich gespielt habe. Ich weiß noch genau, dass mich die tiefgründige Handlung und die komplexen Figuren begeistert haben, von der atemraubend schönen Musik ganz zu schweigen. Mit diesem Arrangement möchte ich die Geschichte so erzählen, wie ich sie erlebt habe.“

Der Fokus der Partitur liegt auf der Reise der Heldin Terra Branford, die mit der Gabe der Magie geboren wurde und als Sklavin des Imperiums aufwuchs, das sie zu einer menschlichen Waffe machte. Nachdem sich Terra endlich von diesen Fesseln befreit, verliert sie jegliche Erinnerung an ihre Vergangenheit. Sie bricht auf, um mehr über sich selbst zu erfahren und die Quelle ihrer einzigartigen Kräfte zu ergründen. Während ihres Abenteuers rettet sie die Welt vor dem ebenso bösartigen wie verrückten Kefka Palazzo, der rechten Hand des Imperators.
Roger Wanamo erklärt: „Im Verlauf des Stücks erkunde ich die verschiedenen Abschnitte in Terras Leben, die sie zu der Frau gemacht haben, die sie heute ist. Auch beschäftige ich mich mit Kefka und seiner psychotischen Persönlichkeit. Nachdem der letzte Kampf geschlagen ist und sich der Rauch über dem Schlachtfeld gelichtet hat, kommt Terra endlich mit ihrer Vergangenheit ins Reine und kann in Freiheit leben.“

FINAL FANTASY X

Klavierkonzert

Neben Nobuo Uematsu und Junya Nakano ist Masashi Hamauzu, der Arrangeur dieses Klavierkonzerts, einer der Komponisten von FINAL FANTASY X. Für ihn war die Arbeit an dem Videospiel etwas ganz Besonderes: „Hier konnte ich meine Gefühle und Empfindsamkeit mehr einbringen, als das sonst oft möglich ist. Natürlich hatte ich die Geschichte von FINAL FANTASY X im Kopf, aber ich ließ mich auch von der wirklichen Welt inspirieren.“

Als langjähriger Mitarbeiter an FINAL FANTASY betrachtet Masashi Hamauzu die Serie eher als thematisches Kontinuum und weniger als Reihe in sich abgeschlossener Geschichten und Ereignisse. Sein Arrangement für das Konzert reflektiert diese größere Vision mehr als eine bestimmte Erzählung oder Spielfiguren. Er sieht die neue Partitur als Chance, sein Idealbild der Musik stärker zu verwirklichen: „Es gab damals einige Dinge, die ich nicht gut genug ausdrücken konnte, als ich an der Musik zu FINAL FANTASY X arbeitete.“
Von Roger Wanamo, dem Orchestrator dieses Stücks, ist Hamauzu beeindruckt: „Er ist einer der besten Orchestratoren Europas.“

freisteller uematsu



Nobuo Uematsu
schreibt bereits seit Mitte der Achtziger Jahre Musik für Videospiele. Sein Name ist untrennbar mit der FINAL FANTASY-Reihe verbunden und prangt auf Millionen verkaufter CDs.

freisteller hamauzu-



Masashi Hamauzu arbeitet seit rund 20 Jahren als Komponist in der Spieleindustrie. Zu seinen aktuellen Soundtracks gehört unter anderem die Musik zu FINAL FANTASY XIII.

FINAL FANTASY VII

Sinfonie in drei Sätzen

I. Nibelheim Incident

Der erste Teil dieser Sinfonie befasst sich mit dem mächtigen Widersacher des Spiels: Sephiroth. Jonne Valtonen, der Arrangeur and Orchestrator dieser Partitur, verwendet das Drei-Noten-Leitmotiv von Sephiroth den ganzen Satz hindurch als Element struktureller Integrität: Gegen Ende tritt die Komposition „One-Winged Angel“ in all ihrer Pracht zutage und alle Themen verweben sich allmählich miteinander, bis sie sich schließlich mehr und mehr verzerren. Diese Verzerrung bildet den inneren Aufruhr ab, den Sephiroth fühlt, als er sich im Dorf Nibelheim seiner Vergangenheit bewusst wird. Kurz kehrt trügerische Ruhe ein - doch sogleich ertönt der bekannte Takt erneut „in einem beinahe spirituellen Zusammenhang“, wie Jonne Valtonen beschreibt.

II. Words Drowned by Fireworks

Der zweite Satz der Sinfonie handelt von Liebe, Verlust und Ungewissheit. Cloud Strife, ehemaliger Söldner und Held der Geschichte, ist sich seiner Gefühle zu der geheimnisvollen Aerith Gainsborough und seiner Jugendfreundin Tifa Lockhart nicht sicher. In „Words Drowned by Fireworks“ macht er sich zu einem kurzen Rendezvous auf, einem romantischen Kontrastpunkt in der dystopischen Welt von FINAL FANTASY VII. Die drei Themen von Tifa, Cloud und Aerith werden vorgestellt und sind den gesamten Satz über präsent, jedes steht einmal im Vordergrund. Die Melodien und Motive der anderen beiden Figuren treten nach vorn, wann immer ihnen das aktuelle Hauptthema Platz bietet.

III. The Planet’s Crisis

Das Stück „Countdown“ markiert nicht nur den Anfang des dritten Satzes, es beinhaltet auch Material, das später immer wieder als vereinendes Element erscheint. Gut gegen Böse, Cloud gegen Sephiroth: Die Konfrontation wird von metallischen Klängen begleitet, die Motive verschiedener Figuren treffen aufeinander. Auf die letzte heftige Schlacht folgt Stille, und aus der Stille entspringt ein neuer Lebensfluss. Er fließt und wächst, wie Jonne Valtonen erklärt: „Tatsächlich sind die Akkorde gegen Ende so laut wie physikalisch nur möglich, spektral und orchestral gesehen. Der Klang ist stark und überwältigend, genau wie der Fluss des Lebens selbst, der Lebensstrom.“

Text: Mikko Laine
Übersetzung: Thomas Nickel und Matthias Oborski

logo merregnon

Final Symphony © & ℗ 2013/2014 Merregnon Studios. Licensed by Square Enix. FINAL FANTASY is a registered trademark or trademark of Square Enix Group Co., Ltd.