Thomas Böcker
Salzgasse 6
01067 Dresden / Germany

Phone +49 351 3324029
info@spielemusikkonzerte.de

VAT ID DE216059330


Booking:

Opus 3 Artists GmbH
Sophia Grevesmühl
Pariser Straße 62
10719 Berlin / Germany

Phone +49 30 88910151
sgrevesmuhl@opus3artists.com



header fantasies
Scroll                 down   

Symphonic Fantasies is an officially licensed series of concerts featuring symphonic music from the video games KINGDOM HEARTS, SECRET OF MANA, CHRONO TRIGGER, CHRONO CROSS and FINAL FANTASY. All arrangements are written by Jonne Valtonen and Roger Wanamo..

The premiere took place with the WDR Radio Orchestra Cologne in September 2009. At the Philharmonic Hall in Cologne, composers Yoko Shimomura, Hiroki Kikuta, Yasunori Mitsuda and Nobuo Uematsu celebrated the performance as guests of honour together with the concert attendees. In another first, the video game music concert was broadcast live worldwide as an Internet video stream.
In Japan, the home of video game music concerts, Symphonic Fantasies was performed in January 2012 as the first European production of its kind. Under the direction of Eckehard Stier, the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra performed at the Tokyo Bunka Kaikan concert hall.

Jonne Valtonen
Fanfare Overture

Yoko Shimomura
Fantasy I: KINGDOM HEARTS
(Dearly Beloved | The Other Promise | A Fight to the Death |
Hand in Hand etc.)


Hiroki Kikuta
Fantasy II: SECRET OF MANA
(Fear of the Heavens | Into the Thick of it | The Oracle | Prophecy etc.)

Yasunori Mitsuda
Fantasy III: CHRONO TRIGGER / CHRONO CROSS
(Chrono Trigger | Scars of Time | Battle with Magus | Prisoners of Fate etc.)

Nobuo Uematsu
Fantasy IV: FINAL FANTASY
(Prelude | Bombing Mission | Battle at the Big Bridge |
Phantom Forest etc.)

“Conclusion: pure fascination. Here's hoping that the dream team of video game music concerts will be back next year with an equally gorgeous program. No matter what they do next, the halls will be filled to capacity!”
gamona

“Symphonic Fantasies feels like a new and exciting musical adventure. A totally different concept to the usual, by the numbers video game concerts. Symphonic Fantasies is the stuff dreams are made of.”
LEVEL

“An amazing show had come to an end, exceeding all expectations, and setting the bar so incredibly high that I can’t do anything but get massively excited for what Böcker has planned next!”
Original Sound Version

“Symphonic Fantasies marks an important turning-point in the history of video game music concerts; a unique event that takes great strides towards breaking the boundaries between video game music and traditional classical works.”
GameMusic.pl

“Has it been the best concert of music from Square Enix that I have ever experienced? Without the slightest doubt, yes. The reception at the venue, as well as on the Internet has been so positive that those responsible must make it
their duty to continue on this path.”
DemoNews

“Symphonic Fantasies was a fantastic video game music concert, with a magnificent orchestra and choir, tremendous soloists and convincing acoustics at the Philharmonic Hall in Cologne. Not forgetting, the perfect dream mix of music from Square Enix games, arranged by Jonne Valtonen into multifaceted suites.”
4Players

“Fresh interpretations of well known themes was Symphonic Fantasies' trump card. Talented Finn Jonne Valtonen wrote fantastic arrangements of themes from Chrono Trigger/Cross, Secret of Mana, Kingdom Hearts and Final Fantasy,
and in doing so created four long, complex music pieces.”
M! Games

“The perfect blend of themes from Chrono Trigger and Chrono Cross, the wonderful arrangement of Secret of Mana and the humorous elements in Final Fantasy: all delighted concert attendees just as much as they had the composers.”
Eurogamer.de

“It has been a defining concert for all attendees. For the audience, the musicians, for those responsible and the guests of honour. Some reminiscing, others motivated by the enhusiasm of the crowd. Without a doubt, Symphonic Fantasies sets
a new high standard for these kinds of concerts, musicially as well as atmospherically.”
VGMLounge

“And there it was, the encore! The icing on the cake for an already splendid evening that went by all too fast and
left behind happy faces without any exception.”
end of level boss

KINGDOM HEARTS

Fantasy I

The game KINGDOM HEARTS is a collaborative effort between Squaresoft and The Walt Disney Company. It features familiar characters and locations from both Square’s FINAL FANTASY-series and from Disney’s animated features (such as Donald Duck, Goofy, Mickey Mouse, Aerith and Tidus), but also new characters like the protagonist Sora. In the game Sora tries to find his friends who vanish into a dark portal when the Heartless (the antagonists) attack Destiny Islands.

The score of the game was composed by Yoko Shimomura, whose style always features “a certain sweetness, even during the heaviest of battle scenes” according to Jonne Valtonen, the arranger of this piece. He has tried to maintain this sense of sweetness throughout the arrangement. “I tried to find the character of not only the game itself, but also of the composer, and feature those in my arrangement as much as possible.” Valtonen also decided to feature the piano prominently in this piece as a tribute to the composer’s background in piano studies. The juxtaposition of famous characters in the game inspired the arranger to quote a legendary composition that has inspired many composers: “In the end of the arrangement I decided to pay homage to Gustav Holst’s Mars, the Bringer of War and bring some elements of it to play with the themes of the game itself.”

SECRET OF MANA

Fantasy II

SECRET OF MANA features a magnificent score by composer Hiroki Kikuta. His work on this game was deeply inspired by different sounds of the natural environment. This approach was very suitable, as one of the strongest themes of the game deals with environmental issues. In the game young protagonist Randi finds an old sword embedded in stone. It is then recognized by knight Jema as the Mana Sword, which must be re-energized by rescuing the eight spirits known as Elementals (earth, wind, fire, water, light, dark, moon and life), all of which are located in different temples of Mana. The Elementals give Randi strength to battle the sorcerer Thanatos and therefore save the world from destruction.

Arranger Jonne Valtonen explains that the inspiration for his work emerged from the composer’s interest in different sounds and effects. The glorious soundscape of the nature is reflected in the orchestration as the sounds of wind, storm and thunder play a major part. “In the beginning the storm is approaching, and as it breaks, it gives birth to the main theme. This theme recurs throughout the piece surrounded by arpeggios that represent rain. The music takes the listener through the plains and the caves to the supernatural realm. In the end the storm calms down and the adventure is over.”

freisteller shimomura
freisteller kikuta
freisteller mitsuda
freisteller uematsu



Yoko Shimomura
combines memorable pop songs with complex symphonic music, and in doing so has reached the hearts of countless players worldwide, particularly with her KINGDOM HEARTS score.



Hiroki Kikuta has had a varied career, having studied philosophy, worked as a cartoonist and composed music for anime series before deciding to become a composer for video games in 1991.



Yasunori Mitsuda
started his career as a sound designer before moving on to composing. Today he is best known for using Celtic, African and Indian influences to give his music a unique style.



Nobuo Uematsu
has been composing music for video games since the mid-eighties. His name is inextricably linked to the FINAL FANTASY series, and his music has gone on to sell millions of CDs worldwide.

CHRONO TRIGGER / CHRONO CROSS

Fantasy III

Prior to working on CHRONO TRIGGER / CHRONO CROSS, his first large scale orchestral arrangement for the Spielemusikkonzerte series Roger Wanamo was not familiar with these games or their music: “I was told that they are quite a big deal to the fans, especially to the music fans. And the music is indeed absolutely stunning!”

In the games the protagonists voyage between different temporal and parallel dimensions in order to save the world. As the games take place in various eras and locations, the score also reflects these transitions by providing a rich tapestry of themes. This provided quite a pleasant challenge: “We decided on a few key pieces that just had to be featured, such as the main themes and some of the most popular character themes. For me the most important piece was 'Prisoners of Fate'. In my opinion this is one of the most beautiful melodies ever written for a video game.”

To get the different themes to work well together and still preserve the distinct nature of the individual themes was of utmost importance to Wanamo: “To me it's like solving a puzzle. I find this approach especially fitting for video game arrangements, as often the different themes indicate certain locations or characters.” As the different characters interact with each other, and their actions take place in different locations, it’s natural that there is also interaction between the themes in the arrangement.

FINAL FANTASY

Fantasy IV

FINAL FANTASY and its sequels have been very successful both commercially and critically. The music composed by Nobuo Uematsu has rightly gained a legendary reputation among game music aficionados. Each game in the series is independent from each other, but they all have recurring themes in common. They deal with a group of heroes fighting against evil and they put emphasis on characters’ relationships and internal struggles.

However, there is also a lighter side to the FINAL FANTASY-world, and that dimension is fully explored by Jonne Valtonen in his arrangement, which features a multitude of famous themes from the series: “As Nobuo Uematsu is a man with a great sense of fun and humor, I decided to make this piece slightly humorous.”  The recurring element of this arrangement is Chocobo, a large flightless bird that is featured in most of the series’ games.  The theme of Chocobo appears multiple times, once even interrupting another theme. “There is a great warmth in Nobuo Uematsu, and also in the the games themselves, and I tried to maintain that warmth in my work as well.” The final part of the arrangement has a festive quality to it. The main theme of FINAL FANTASY is presented like a fanfare, “it’s the final climax at the end of the concert”.

Text: Mikko Laine

Symphonic Fantasies © & ℗ 2009-2014 Merregnon Studios. Licensed by Square Enix.
Kingdom Hearts © Disney. Developed by Square Enix Co., Ltd. © 2002 Walt Disney Music Company. All Rights Reserved. Secret of Mana © 1993 Square Enix Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Chrono Trigger © 1995, 2008, 2011 Square Enix Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Illustration © 1995 BIRD STUDIO / SHUEISHA. Chrono Cross © 1999 Square Enix Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved. © 1999 Septima Ley & Square Enix Co., Ltd. Character Design © 1999 Nobuteru Yuuki. Final Fantasy © 1987, 1988, 1992, 1994, 1997 Square Enix Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Thomas Böcker
Salzgasse 6
D-01067 Dresden

Telefon +49 351 3324029
info@spielemusikkonzerte.de

USt-ID DE216059330


Buchungsanfragen:

Opus 3 Artists GmbH
Sophia Grevesmühl
Pariser Straße 62
D-10719 Berlin

Telefon +49 30 88910151
sgrevesmuhl@opus3artists.com



header fantasies
Scroll                 down   

Symphonic Fantasies ist die offiziell lizenzierte Konzertreihe mit sinfonischer Musik aus den Videospielen KINGDOM HEARTS, SECRET OF MANA, CHRONO TRIGGER, CHRONO CROSS und FINAL FANTASY. Alle Arrangements stammen von Jonne Valtonen und Roger Wanamo.

Die Premiere fand im September 2009 mit dem WDR Rundfunkorchester Köln statt. In der Kölner Philharmonie feierten Komponistin Yoko Shimomura sowie die Komponisten Hiroki Kikuta, Yasunori Mitsuda und Nobuo Uematsu die Uraufführung als Ehrengäste zusammen mit den Besuchern. Eine weitere Premiere: Erstmals wurde ein Konzert mit Spielemusik weltweit live als Internet-Videostream übertragen.
In Japan, der Heimat der Spielemusikkonzerte, wurde Symphonic Fantasies im Januar 2012 als erste europäische Produktion ihrer Art aufgeführt. Unter Leitung von Eckehard Stier spielte das Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra im Konzerthaus Tokyo Bunka Kaikan.

Jonne Valtonen
Fanfare Overture

Yoko Shimomura
Fantasy I: KINGDOM HEARTS
(Dearly Beloved | The Other Promise | A Fight to the Death |
Hand in Hand etc.)


Hiroki Kikuta
Fantasy II: SECRET OF MANA
(Fear of the Heavens | Into the Thick of it | The Oracle | Prophecy etc.)

Yasunori Mitsuda
Fantasy III: CHRONO TRIGGER / CHRONO CROSS
(Chrono Trigger | Scars of Time | Battle with Magus | Prisoners of Fate etc.)

Nobuo Uematsu
Fantasy IV: FINAL FANTASY
(Prelude | Bombing Mission | Battle at the Big Bridge |
Phantom Forest etc.)

„Fazit: pure Begeisterung. Hoffentlich beglückt uns das Dreamteam der Spielemusik-Konzerte auch nächstes Jahr wieder mit einem derart umwerfenden Programm. Egal, was als nächstes kommt: Die Säle werden bis zum Anschlag gefüllt sein!“
gamona

„Symphonic Fantasies fühlt sich wie ein neues und aufregendes musikalisches Abenteuer an; es ist das Gegenkonzept zu den immer gleichen, den üblichen Spielemusikkonzerten nach Schema F. Symphonic Fantasies ist der Stoff, aus dem Träume sind.“
LEVEL

„Ein phantastisches Konzert kam zu seinem Ende und übertraf alle Erwartungen. Es setzte die Messlatte so unglaublich hoch, dass ich kaum erwarten kann, was Böcker als nächstes plant!“
Original Sound Version

„Symphonic Fantasies stellt einen bedeutsamen Wendepunkt in der Geschichte der Spielemusikkonzerte dar; eine außergewöhnliche Veranstaltung, die große Fortschritte darin macht, Grenzen zwischen Spielemusik und traditionellen klassischen Werken aufzubrechen.“
GameMusic.pl

„War es das beste Konzert, das ich je über Square-Enix-Musik gehört habe? Ohne jeden kleinsten Zweifel Ja. Die Begeisterung sowohl im Saal als auch im Internet ist dermaßen dominant, dass es eine Pflicht für alle Verantwortlichen ist, irgendwie weiterzumachen.“
DemoNews

„Symphonic Fantasies war ein fantastisches Spielemusik-Konzert mit einem großartigen Orchester, Chor, Dirigenten, tollen Solisten sowie einer überzeugenden Akustik in der Kölner Philharmonie – nicht zu vergessen die traumhaft schönen Musikstücke aus den Square Enix-Spielen, die von Jonne Valtonen zu facettenreichen Suiten verwertet wurden.“
4Players

„Beim Konzert Symphonic Fantasies, das am 12. September in Köln stattfand, war Neuinterpretation trumpf. Der talentierte Finne Jonne Valtonen schrieb fantastische Arrangements zu Themen aus Chrono Trigger bzw. Cross, Secret of Mana, Kingdom Hearts sowie der Final Fantasy-Serie und schuf so vier lange, komplexe Musikstücke.“
M! Games

„Die perfekte Vermischung der Themen von Chrono Trigger und Chrono Cross, das wundervolle Arrangement von Secret of Mana, und die humorvollen Elemente bei Final Fantasy begeisterten die Hörer in Saal genauso wie die Komponisten.“
Eurogamer.de

„Es war ein prägendes Ereignis für alle Anwesenden. Zuschauer wie Musiker, Verantwortliche wie Ehrengäste. Die einen in Erinnerungen schwelgend, die anderen motiviert von der Begeisterung der im Saal Sitzenden. Symphonic Fantasies setzte ohne Zweifel die Messlatte für Konzerte dieser Art ganz weit nach oben. Musikalisch wie auch atmosphärisch.“
VGMLounge

„Und es gab sie, die Zugabe! Ein krönendes Sahnehäubchen auf einem ohnehin schon famosen Abend, der wieder einmal viel zu schnell vorbei war, dafür aber ausnahmslos glückliche Gesichter zurückließ.“
end of level boss

KINGDOM HEARTS

Fantasy I

KINGDOM HEARTS ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Square Enix und der Walt Disney Company. Berühmte Figuren der FINAL FANTASY-Serie wie Aerith und Tidus treffen in malerischen Disney-Welten auf Trickfilmstars wie Donald Duck, Goofy und Micky Maus. Ein neues Gesicht hingegen ist Sora. Als die Herzlosen – die zentralen Widersacher in KINGDOM HEARTS – Soras Heimat, die Inseln des Schicksals, angreifen, verschwinden seine Gefährten plötzlich in einem dunklen Portal. Der junge Held versucht nun gemeinsam mit bekannten Mitstreitern, die Freunde zu retten.

Die Musik zum Spiel stammt von Yoko Shimomura. In ihrem Stil hört Arrangeur Jonne Valtonen stets „eine gewisse Anmut, selbst während schwerster Kampfszenen.“ Diese besondere Anmut versucht er, in seinem Arrangement beizubehalten. „Mein Ziel war es, nicht nur den Charakter des Spiels selbst zu finden, sondern auch den der Komponistin – und beide in meiner Partitur besonders hervorzuheben.“ Deswegen entschied sich Jonne Valtonen auch, das Piano prominent im Stück zu nutzen, studierte Yoko Shimomura das Klavier doch zu Beginn ihrer Karriere. Das Nebeneinander berühmter Figuren ermutigte den Arrangeur zudem dazu, eine andere bekannte Komposition zu zitieren, die bereits viele seiner Kollegen inspiriert hat: „Gegen Ende des Stücks habe ich eine Hommage an Gustav Holsts ,Mars, der Kriegsbringer' eingeflochten. Dessen Fragmente spielen mit den Melodien aus KINGDOM HEARTS.“

SECRET OF MANA

Fantasy II

SECRET OF MANA beeindruckte bei seiner Veröffentlichung mit einem Soundtrack von Hiroki Kikuta. Bei seiner Arbeit am Spiel inspirierten ihn besonders die Klänge der Natur. Ein passender Ansatz, behandelt eines der zentralen Themen von SECRET OF MANA doch Umweltfragen. Der junge Protagonist Randi findet ein altes Schwert und bricht dessen Siegel. Später erfährt er vom Ritter Jema, dass dies das Mana-Schwert sei, dessen Energie durch die Rettung der acht Geister – die Elemente Erde, Wind, Feuer, Wasser, Licht, Dunkelheit, Mond und Leben – wieder erneuert werden muss. Alle von ihnen sind in verschiedenen Mana-Tempeln zu finden. Sie geben Randi und seinen Freunden die Macht, den Zauberer Thanatos zu bekämpfen und so die Welt vor ihrer Zerstörung zu bewahren.

Arrangeur Jonne Valtonen sagt, dass seine Arbeit vor allem vom Interesse des Originalkomponisten an Klängen und Effekten geprägt wurde. Die prächtige Geräuschkulisse der Natur spiegelt sich so in der Orchestrierung wider, in der vor allem die Klänge des Windes und des Donners eine bedeutende Rolle spielen. „Am Anfang naht ein Sturm. Als er ausbricht, entfesselt er das Hauptthema. Diese Melodie kehrt im Laufe des Stückes wieder und wieder, begleitet von Arpeggien, die den Regen verkörpern. Die Musik begleitet den Zuhörer durch Ebenen, Wälder und Höhlen in übernatürliche Reiche. Schließlich beruhigt sich das Unwetter und das Abenteuer endet.“

freisteller shimomura
freisteller kikuta
freisteller mitsuda
freisteller uematsu



Yoko Shimomura 
kombiniert eingängige Popsongs mit komplexer sinfonischer Musik und erreicht mit ihren Soundtracks so die Herzen zahlloser Spielerinnen und Spieler weltweit.



Hiroki Kikuta studiert Philosophie, arbeitet als Cartoonist und schreibt Musik für Animeserien, bevor er sich 1991 dazu entschließt, ein Komponist für Videospiele zu werden.



Yasunori Mitsuda 
beginnt seine Karriere als Sound-Programmierer. Heute ist er als Komponist bekannt, der keltische, afrikanische und indische Einflüsse in seiner Musik verarbeitet.



Nobuo Uematsu schreibt bereits seit Mitte der Achtziger Jahre Musik für Videospiele. Sein Name ist untrennbar mit der FINAL FANTASY-Reihe verbunden und prangt auf Millionen verkaufter CDs.

CHRONO TRIGGER / CHRONO CROSS

Fantasy III

Bevor Roger Wanamo mit seiner Arbeit an CHRONO TRIGGER / CHRONO CROSS begann – seinem ersten großen Arrangement für Spielemusikkonzerte –, war er mit den Spielen und deren Musik nicht vertraut. „Mir wurde gesagt, dass beide Spiele für ihre Fans etwas ganz Besonderes seien, vor allem wegen der Musik von Yasunori Mitsuda und Nobuo Uematsu. Und die ist in der Tat atemraubend!“

In CHRONO TRIGGER und CHRONO CROSS reisen die Protagonisten durch die Zeit und zwischen den Dimensionen, um ihre Welt zu retten. Die Musik spiegelt diese Übergänge mit einer reichen Auswahl an Melodien wider. Eine willkommene Herausforderung für den Arrangeur: „Wir wählten einige wichtige Stücke aus, die einfach dabei sein mussten – Hauptthemen und Motive der beliebtesten Figuren. Für mich war das wichtigste Stück ,Prisoners of Fate', das meiner Meinung nach eine der schönsten Melodien ist, die jemals für ein Videospiel geschrieben wurden.“

Die unterschiedlichen Themen zu verweben und dennoch ihre eigenständige Note zu erhalten, war für Roger Wanamo von größter Bedeutung: „Für mich ist es wie das Lösen eines Puzzles. Diesen Ansatz finde ich besonders für Videospiel-Arrangements passend, da verschiedene Melodien oft bestimmte Orte oder Figuren beschreiben.“ Charaktere treffen sich und interagieren an verschiedenen Plätzen zu verschiedenen Zeiten miteinander. Kein Wunder also, dass sich auch die einzelnen Melodien in diesem Arrangement gegenseitig beeinflussen.

FINAL FANTASY

Fantasy IV

FINAL FANTASY und seine Fortsetzungen feiern bei Spielern ebenso wie bei Kritikern größte Erfolge. Die Musik von Nobuo Uematsu genießt unter Kennern völlig zurecht einen legendären Ruf. Jedes Spiel der Reihe steht für sich alleine, und doch haben alle wiederkehrende Themen und Motive gemeinsam. In allen Teilen kämpfen Gruppen von Helden gegen große Bedrohungen, während jedes einzelne Spiel Wert auf die Beziehungen der Charaktere und deren Konflikte untereinander legt. Und doch besitzt die Welt von FINAL FANTASY auch eine sehr heitere Seite.

Genau diese präsentiert Jonne Valtonen in seinem Arrangement, das eine Vielzahl berühmter Melodien der Serie beeinhaltet: „Da Nobuo Uematsu ein Mann mit großem Sinn für Spaß und Humor ist, beschloss ich, dieses Stück etwas heiterer anzugehen.“ Ein wiederkehrendes Element des Arrangements ist der Chocobo. Ein großer, flugunfähiger Vogel, der in den meisten Spielen der Reihe als Reittier auftritt. Das Chocobo-Thema erklingt deswegen mehrmals – einmal sogar, um eine andere Melodie zu unterbrechen. „In Nobuo Uematsu spürt man eine große Wärme, und auch in den Spielen selbst. Ich habe versucht, diese Wärme in meiner Arbeit zu erhalten.“ Der Schlussteil der Partitur kommt in festlichen Klangfarben daher. Das Hauptthema von FINAL FANTASY wird wie eine Fanfare gespielt: „Es ist der letzte Höhepunkt am Ende des Konzerts.“

Text: Mikko Laine
Übersetzung: Thomas Nickel und Matthias Oborski

logo merregnon

Symphonic Fantasies © & ℗ 2009-2014 Merregnon Studios. Licensed by Square Enix.
Kingdom Hearts © Disney. Developed by Square Enix Co., Ltd. © 2002 Walt Disney Music Company. All Rights Reserved. Secret of Mana © 1993 Square Enix Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Chrono Trigger © 1995, 2008, 2011 Square Enix Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Illustration © 1995 BIRD STUDIO / SHUEISHA. Chrono Cross © 1999 Square Enix Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved. © 1999 Septima Ley & Square Enix Co., Ltd. Character Design © 1999 Nobuteru Yuuki. Final Fantasy © 1987, 1988, 1992, 1994, 1997 Square Enix Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved.